How to Remove Items from iOS 15’s New ‘Shared with You’ Menu « iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

The new “Shared with You” feature on iOS 15 is meant to make your life easier. Articles, music, photos, videos, and links sent to you via Messages will now show up in other apps, such as Safari and Photos, for easy access. And while it’s a great way to re-share content, you may not want everything you’re sent to show up elsewhere on your iPhone.

The content you’re sent is your content, and having it easily accessible in so many other apps makes it easy to be found. But if you want your content to remain somewhat hidden, it’s best you disable “Shared with You,” at least with certain contacts in Messages. Fortunately, it just takes a few taps to stop someone’s content from being shared all over your iPhone.

How to Remove a Contact from ‘Shared with You’

To stop someone’s content from appearing in other applications aside from Messages, launch the Messages app and find your contact. They do have to be added as a contact, or else this won’t work — so if they’re not, add them to your contacts now. Next, long-press on the contact and tap on “Hide in Shared with You.”

Once you hit this button, the content they send to you will no longer appear in other apps aside from Messages. Below, you can see a Google Doc link from Michael, sent via messages, show up in Safari’s landing page. On the right is the same Safari landing page after the contact had been removed from “Shared with You.”

How to Bring Back a Contact to ‘Shared with You’

If for some reason you want to allow a contact’s content to appear in “Shared with You” again after removing it, the process is simple. Again, launch the Messages application and long-press down on the contact. In the quick action menu that appears, tap on “Share Automatically.” After you do, the contact’s content will once again appear in other applications.

Note: Apple’s iOS 15 is currently in beta development. A public beta will be available in July, while the final release isn’t expected until the fall of 2021. Anything shown in this guide may change or be removed during the development cycle.

Keep Your Connection Secure Without a Monthly Bill. Get a lifetime subscription to VPN Unlimited for all your devices with a one-time purchase from the new Gadget Hacks Shop, and watch Hulu or Netflix without regional restrictions, increase security when browsing on public networks, and more.

Buy Now (80% off) >

Other worthwhile deals to check out:

Cover photo and screenshots by Nelson Aguilar/Gadget Hacks